+256 771056981 info@bonobosafricansafariholidays.com
+256 771056981 info@bonobosafricansafariholidays.com

Exploring Visa-Free Travel: Which Countries Are Visa-Free for Uganda? 2024/2025

Entebbe Airport

Exploring Visa-Free Travel: Which Countries Are Visa-Free for Uganda?

Are you a wanderlust-driven traveler with Uganda on your radar? The good news is that Uganda has opened its doors to tourists from various corners of the world. With a picturesque landscape, diverse wildlife, and a rich cultural heritage, Uganda has become an increasingly popular destination for tourists seeking adventure, nature, and cultural experiences. If you’re wondering about visa requirements for visiting Uganda or which countries are visa-free for Uganda, this blog is your ultimate guide.

Uganda’s Visa Policy:

Uganda has a relatively open visa policy, making it accessible to tourists from many countries. Here are the main categories of visa options for visitors:

  1. Visa Exemptions:

    • Uganda extends visa-free entry to citizens of select countries for tourism purposes. Travelers from these countries can enter Uganda without obtaining a visa in advance and stay for a specific duration.
  2. Visa on Arrival:

    • For travelers who aren’t eligible for visa-free entry, Uganda offers the option of obtaining a visa on arrival at major entry points, such as Entebbe International Airport. Visa fees may apply.
  3. E-Visa:

    • Uganda also provides an electronic visa (e-visa) application system, allowing travelers to apply for a visa online before their trip. This can be a convenient option, especially for those who wish to avoid any last-minute hassles.

Now, let’s explore which countries enjoy visa-free access to Uganda:

Visa-Free Countries for Uganda:

  1. East African Community (EAC) Member States:
    • Citizens of Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, and South Sudan enjoy visa-free access to Uganda. The East African Community promotes regional integration, making it easier for citizens of member states to travel within the region.
  2. COMESA Member States:
    • Uganda is a member of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), and as such, citizens of COMESA member states can enter Uganda for tourism purposes without a visa. This includes countries such as Egypt, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
  3. Other Visa-Free Countries:
    • Uganda has established visa-free agreements with several other countries. Some examples include Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Eswatini, Fiji, Grenada, Jamaica, Lesotho, Malawi, and Sierra Leone. Please note that the list may change, so it’s always a good idea to check with the Ugandan embassy or consulate in your country or their official website for the most up-to-date information.

Keep in mind that visa-free access often comes with specific conditions, such as a limited duration of stay or restrictions on certain activities. Always research the exact requirements and conditions for your specific nationality before planning your trip.


Uganda’s visa policy reflects its openness to tourists from various countries, making it a great destination for travelers seeking unique experiences, from gorilla trekking in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park to exploring the vibrant streets of Kampala. The country’s visa-free access and visa-on-arrival options ensure that planning your trip to Uganda is relatively hassle-free.

Before you embark on your journey, it’s crucial to check the most up-to-date information, including visa requirements, conditions, and any changes in the visa policy. So, whether you’re a wildlife enthusiast, a cultural explorer, or an adventure seeker, Uganda welcomes you with open arms to experience its beauty and hospitality. Pack your bags and get ready for an unforgettable adventure in the “Pearl of Africa.”

Leave a Reply